Selenium Forum: Functional And Regression Testing Tool.
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Search
Display results as :
Advanced Search
Latest topics
AEM Training | Free Online DemoWed Apr 21, 2021 5:45 pmazharuddin
c# PageFactory - issue initializing elementsFri Nov 01, 2019 8:40 pmthegoatboy
Selenium making automatic connection to random urlsMon Jul 08, 2019 12:58 pmrepairtechsolutions1
How can we design the custom framework in Selenium RCMon Jun 24, 2019 2:26 pmrandybonnettes
What are the new features in Selenium 3.0Tue Jun 18, 2019 5:37 pmpappyvicky
What are you using Selenium for? Fri Apr 12, 2019 3:52 amzhl
LIMITATIONS OF SELENIUMWed Apr 10, 2019 11:23 amswara
Navigation
 Portal
 Index
 Memberlist
 FAQ
 Search

Go down
thegoatboy

text input very flaky on Chromedriver Empty text input very flaky on Chromedriver

Tue Jul 03, 2012 8:14 pm
Hello all,

I am very new to using chrome driver, so please if you can offer assitance i would be very grateful.

I am trying to fill in some text input on a web based application.

I can navigate to the page I need, but the text input really doesn't seem to work correctly using webdriver.

I will break down my code here:

Code:

WebElement firstName;
WebElement surName;

String firstNamePath = "//input[contains(@id,'txtFirstName')]";
String surNamePath = "//input[contains(@id,'txtSurname')]";   

firstName = driver.findElement(By.xpath(firstNamePath));
firstName.sendKeys("Barry");

surName = driver.findElement(By.xpath(surNamePath));
surName.sendKeys("Parry");     

My issue is that the first name is added correctly (Barry in this case) but the input of the second name fails 99.99% of the time.

I've tried adding some Thread.sleep bits in and many other ideas but this always fails.

I've tried adding a driver.click() for the surname element, but again this also fails, unless I add around 2 -5 just to get it to choose the correct element.